Youkai Watch Episodes 48 & 49

precious komasanta

christmas in… june? darn it I’m not even off-season enough for the proper joke

phew, finally! This is an hour long special (90 minutes before you cut the commercials out of it) for the release of the movie! There’s quite a few movie previews in this pair of episodes, and I made sure to sub them properly. However, as they’ve clearly spliced different lines into the same clip in different previews (Keizou slamming his fist on the table has at least two different lines played with it in the footage in these episodes), I can’t guarantee much about these being the exact movie lines or anything. I also don’t have full context so that also effects my translation. Oh and there’s a fun Admatic collaboration in the middle (I translated the name of the segment as an FYI), though I kept on-screen text translation to a minimum as much of it would be redundant with the spoken lines. It’s sort of a recap of everything Youkai Watch, but there’s some fun stuff here and there that’s new.

Also Keita’s grandma is cute (both as a child and an old lady).

Youkai Watch 48 & 49 @ nyaa

As for the new Youkai this time, we have ちからモチ (Chikaramochi), and サンタク老師 (Santakuroushi). Chikaramochi means “Muscleman” as a phrase, but he is also partially “mochi” due to the last piece of his name. Santakuroushi involves the obvious “Santa” reference, followed by “三択” (santaku), which means “three options/choices”, and finally 老師 (roushi) which is a priest or sage.

10 thoughts on “Youkai Watch Episodes 48 & 49

  1. Christmas in the summer?!?? Reminds me of the old Cartoon Network marathons ‘Christmas in July’ that they use to air.

    Like

  2. Hi! I’ve been looking for the complete sub of this for a while now, since most sites with episodes 48/49 cut out the Admatic collab, for some reason, I wanted to download yours. But there’s no seeders! What’s a can of corn to do? Hit me up if you can, I really want to watch that middle part!!

    Like

    • Ah, I was asleep then! Sorry about that, seeding should be going now. Had to turn off my computer last night since I was swapping out battery supply today (we discovered my old one’s power button stopped functioning lol).

      Like

  3. Hey! We can’t find the Admatic bit in between episodes 48 and 49 anywhere, nor can we find any other file that has the whole 90-minute special. Do you have a link to the direct file download?

    Like

  4. I know I’m very late to the party, but there’s something weird about the file for these episodes. There don’t appear to be any subtitles :/ (Unless you put the raws in a link every time and I’m just stupid) Where do I download the subtitled version?

    Like

    • She’s not subbing anymore, and didn’t even bother taking 2 minutes from playing FFXIV to at the very least announce it to us. I’m sorry, but the lack of communication is just inconsiderate.

      Like

Leave a comment